Home
Project Description
Authors

Differential Equations
  with Matlab


Differential Equations
  with Mathematica


Differential Equations
  with Maple

The SCHOL Project

About the Authors

The "SCHOL Project" originated at the Mathematics Department at the University of Maryland, College Park. For a history of the project, see this expository article. The original participants were Profs. Coombes, Hunt, Lipsman, Osborn, and Stuck, and SCHOL was an acronym for their last names. Since then, Drs. Coombes and Stuck have left academic mathematics, Prof. Rosenberg joined the project, and Prof. Lardy from Syracuse University and Prof. Outing from the US Military Academy have joined the Maple and Mathematica projects, respectively. We have been using Matlab, Mathematica and Maple to teach ordinary differential equations since 1992. We have also used these software packages in our research, in other mathematics courses, for presentations and demonstrations and for production of graphics for books.
Kevin Coombes
(formerly at Departments of Biostatistics and Biomathematics
University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center)
email: kevin.r.coombes@gmail.com

Brian Hunt
Institute for Physical Science and Technology
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742-2431
Phone: (301)405-4885
email: bhunt@umd.edu

Lawrence Lardy
Department of Mathematics
Syracuse University
Syracuse, NY 13244-1150
Phone: (315)443-1488
Email: ljlardy@syr.edu

Ron Lipsman
Department of Mathematics
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742-4015
Phone: (301)405-7061
email: rlipsman@math.umd.edu

John Osborn (deceased)

Donald Outing
Department of Mathematical Sciences
United States Military Academy
West Point, New York 10996
Phone: (845)938-7217
email: donald.outing@usma.edu

Jonathan Rosenberg
Department of Mathematics
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742-4015
Phone: (301)405-5059
email: jmr@math.umd.edu

Garrett Stuck
22 Erie Avenue
Newton, MA 02461
email: g_stuck@comcast.net